Page images



LONDRES, Eglise Wallonne Française de Threadneeedle Street, 1550-1840, transférée à ST. MARTIN LE GRAND, 1840. Annexe L'Hôpital, 1687-1744, puis l'Eglise Neuve, 1744-1810?

Subsiste (1885).

Culte chez Soubise 1638-1641, puis à Durham House 1643, à Somerset House Chapel comme Eglise Française de Westminster, 1653 à 1660, transformée, en

LA SAVOIE, 1661, avec Annexe à Spring Gardens ou la Nouvelle
Savoie devenue l'Eglise même en 1738, et Eglise sœur les

Union complète et continue avec les Grecs jusqu'à la
Union passagère avec St. Martin Orgars, 1721 à


LES GRECS, avant 1688, restée seule Eglise des trois, comme "Les Grecs-La Savoie" 1758; transférée à Edward St. 1822, à Bloomsbury Street, 1845, comme St. Jean la Savoie."

Subsiste (1885.)

[ocr errors]

JEWIN STREET, 1686, transférée à BREWERS HALL 1691, à Buckingham House, College Hill, 1693, à ST. MARTIN ORGARS 1701-1823.

Alliée à Hungerford 1688. Union pastorale avec Hungerford et son groupe 1690-1711. Union pastorale avec la Savoie et son groupe 1721-1754. Extinction 25 Dec. 1823.

SAINT JEAN, Swanfields, 1687-1827.

Union pastorale avec Glass House Street, et plus tard son groupe, 1688-1701. Fusion avec l'Eglise de Londres. 12 Avril, 1827.

HUNGERFORD MARKET, 1688, transférée à Castle Street vers


Alliée à Jewin Street, 1688. Union pastorale avec Jewin Street (St. Martin Orgars) 1690 à 1711, avec Swallow Street 1690-1710, avec le Quarré 1695-1762. GLASS HOUSE Street, 1688, devenue Leicesterfields, 1693-1787. Annexe, Le Tabernacle, 1696-1719.

Union pastorale avec St. Jean 1688-1701, avec Petticoat Lane (l'Artillerie) 1691-1769, avec Riderscourt 1701-1750, avec la Patente de Soho 1735-1784. avec le Quarré, 1787.


LA NOUVELLE PATENTE Spitalfields, à Glover's Hall 1688, à Paternoster Row, 1707, à Crispin Street 1717, à Brown's Lane 1740-1787.

Union avec la Patente de Soho 1689-1716. Alliance avec Wheler Street 1703-1720. Union avec l'Artillerie 1769-1787. Fusion avec l'Eglise de Londres, 1787. LA PATENTE DE SOHO à Berwick Street 1689, à Little Chapel Street, Soho 1694-1784.

Union avec la Patente de Spitalfields 1689-1716. Alliance avec la Pyramide 1718-1729. Union avec l'Artillerie et Leicesterfields 1736-1769, avec l'Artillerie seule 1769-1784. Fusion avec les Grecs la Savoie 1784.

Chapelle de L'Artillery Ground 1690-1693, reconstituée à CRISPIN STREET 1693-1716.

Union avec la Charenton et la Tremblade 1694-1716; avec Pearl Street 1700-1704.

Extinction 1716.

SWALLOW STREET ou Piccadilly 1690-1710.

Union avec le groupe conformiste.

LE QUARRE, Monmouth House au Quarré de Soho 1690, હૈ Berwick Street 1694, transférée à Little Dean Street 1810 ?-1848,

Union avec Hungerford (Castle Street) et son groupe 1695-1711; ensuite avec Castle Street seule 1712-1762. Supprimée en 1848.

Petticoat Lane 1691, transférée à L'ARTILLERIE vers 1695-1786. Union pastorale avec Glass House Street (Leicesterfields) et St. Jean 1691-1701, avec Leicesterfields et Riderscourt 1701-1750. Union étroite avec Leicesterfields 1712-1769. Union avec la Patente de Soho 17351769. Union avec la Patente de Spitalfields 1769 à 1786. Fusion avec l'Eglise de Londres 1769.

WELD HOUSE 1693, à Newport Market sous le nom du PETIT CHARENTON 1701-1705.

Union pastorale avec Crispin Street problématique— alliance pastorale avec les Patentes 1701-1703. A la clôture du temple partage probable du troupeau_entre les Eglises non-conformistes du voisinage et la Tremblade.

PEARL STREET 1697-1704.

Union pastorale en 1700 avec Crispin Street dans laquelle elle fusionne 1704.


RIDERS COURT, 1700-1750.

Union pastorale avec Leicesterfields et son groupe 1701, jusqu'à la clôture vers 1750.

WEST STREET ou la Tremblade ou la Pyramide 1701 ou 1706— 1748 environ.

Alliance pastorale avec Crispin Street jusqu'en 1716 -parait ensuite avoir été alliée à la Patente de Soho 1718-1729 et s'être éteinte dans la Savoie 1748.


Union pastorale avec les deux Patentes 1703-1712, alliance avec celle de Spitalfields 1712-1720 et fusion avec elle 14 Mars 1742.

SWANFIELDS 1721-1735.

The Chairman, who had studied the original paper, spoke of the importance of the information it contained in reference to the early French Churches in London, and of the authentic sources from which that information was drawn; and he proposed a cordial vote of thanks to M. le Baron de Schickler for contributing so valuable a paper to this Society, especially at a time, when the demands upon his leisure were unusually great The vote was seconded by Mr. Stride (Member of Council), and carried unanimously; the Hon. Secretary being desired to communicate to M. le Baron de Schickler the resolution of the Meeting.

Mr. Labilliere proposed and Mr. Stride seconded, a vote of thanks to the Chairman, which was acknowledged; and the Meeting separated.



Second Ordinary Meeting of the Session, 1885-6, held at the Criterion, Piccadilly, W.

Wednesday, 13th January, 1886.

The Rt. Honble Sir Henry Austen Layard, G.C.B.
President, in the chair.

The Minutes of the ordinary Meeting, held on the 11th November last, were read and confirmed.

The following candidates for admission to the Society, whose papers had been examined by the Council, were elected Fellows: Arthur Edward Guest, Esq., J.P. 33, Half Moon Street, Piccadilly, W.

Charles James Lacy, 60, West Smithfield, E.C.

Miss Margaret A. C. Rouquette, Bray, Berks.

Miss Sarah Eleanor Rouquette, Wanstead, Essex.

Mrs. Mayor, Queensgate House, Kingston Hill, Surrey.
Mrs. Stirling, Bernina, Vermont Road, Upper Norwood, S.E.
Alexandre Louis Foucar, 8, Tressillian Crescent, Upper Lewisham
Road, S.E.

The Rev. Henry G. B. Le Moine, Mexborough, Yorkshire.
Giles Jupe, Duchy of Cornwall Office, 1, Buckingham Gate, S.W.

The President stated that the Society now consisted of 178 Fellows, of whom 14 were Honorary Fellows. The balance in the Treasurer's hands, after paying for the Diploma which had lately been sent to each of the Fellows, was £108 8s 4d. The President informed the Meeting that the work of transcribing the Norwich Church Register had been commenced, by the permission kindly granted, of the Registrar-General. It is proposed to issue gratuitously to the Fellows of the Society, copies of the Norwich Church Register; and, as the Funds of the Society permit, to transcribe and print the Registers of other Refugee Churches in England. In regard to the work now in hand by the Society, the President stated that a second number of the proceedings would shortly be published containing the papers read at the November meeting and on this evening, a Report on the Commemoration of the Bi-centenary of the Revocation of the Edict of Nantes, and other information; also that papers were being prepared for the March meeting which would be duly announced.

The President appealed to the Fellows of the Society for active help in forwarding the objects for which it was founded. Many subjects on which papers of great interest could be written were mentioned in the letter from the Honorary Secretary which accompanied the Diploma, others would doubtless arise in the minds of those who made it a study to preserve the traditions of their Huguenot ancestors.

The President announced that the Société de l'histoire du Protestantisme Français had, through M. le Baron de Schickler, its President, given a cordial invitation to the Fellows of this Society, to consult their extensive and valuable Library, which on 1st. February, will be removed from the Place Vendôme, in Paris, to new quarters in the Rue des Saints Pères, where it will be open on four days in each week, instead of on one day as heretofore. The Directors of the French Protestant Hospital in London had also generously offered the use of their special library of works on Huguenot history to the Fellows of this Society, on application being made to the Honorary Secretary. The following paper was read by Mr. William Westall:


More than any other city is Geneva identified with Protestantism. Until the close of the last century it had hardly ever more than 16,000 inhabitants, and its territory stretched only three or four miles beyond the city walls. Yet though always threatened and continually in danger, its people maintained the independence of their commonwealth and the integrity of their faith for nearly three hundred years. What Jerusalem was to the Jews in the days of the Babylonish captivity, what Rome was to the devout Catholic of the mediæval ages; what Mecca is now to the followers of the Prophet; what Benares is to the Hindoos, that was Geneva in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries to Protestants all the world over, and above all, to the persecuted Protestants of France. English Protestants flying from the Marian persecution, took refuge there; the terrified survivors of the Massacre of St. Bartholomew took refuge there; and thousands of fugitives, compelled to leave their homes after the Revocation of the Edict of Nantes, were sheltered, and clothed and fed by the burghers of Geneva. All this they did at the peril of their lives, for the Roman Curia and the Court of Turin were everlastingly plotting their destruction, and the cruel and bigoted


« PreviousContinue »