Modern Criticism and Theory: A Reader

Front Cover
David Lodge
Longman, 1988 - Language Arts & Disciplines - 467 pages
This reader is designed as a companion volume and is some sense, sequel to David Lodge's 20th Century Literary Criticism-A Reader. Since the earlier book was compiled, the academic study of literature has been revolutionised by the impact of structuralism and post-structuralist theory. This book aims to provide, within the covers of a single book, a selection of important and representative work from all the major theorectical schools or tendencies in contemporaryr criticism, and to place them before the reader in two alternative orders - one historical, the other thematic.

The twenty-eight authors represented are:

Ferdinand de Saussure, Victor Shklovsky, Roman Jakobson, Gèrard Genette, Jacques Lacan, Jacques Derrida, Mikhail Bakhtin, Tzvetan Todorov, Roland Barthes, Michel Foucault, Wolfgang Iser, Julia Kristeva, Harold Bloom, E. D. Hirsch Jr, M. H. Abrams, J. Hillis Miller, Hèléne Cixous, Edward Said, Stanley Fish, Elaine Showalter, Paul De Man, Fredric Jameson, Terry Eagleton, Catherine Belsey, Geoffrey Hartman, Juliet Mitchell, Colin MacCabe, Umberto Eco.

From inside the book


Ferdinand de Saussure
Victor Shklovsky
Roman Jakobson

22 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1988)

Writing both literary criticism and novels, British author David Lodge has learned to practice what he teaches. A professor of Modern English literature, both his fiction and nonfiction have found a large readership in the United Kingdom and the United States. To maintain his dual approach to writing, Lodge has attempted to alternate a novel one year and a literary criticism the next throughout his career. Lodge's fiction has been described as good writing with a good laugh, and he is praised for his ability to treat serious subjects sardonically. This comic touch is evident in his first novel, "The Picturegoers" (1960) in which the conflict of Catholicism with sensual desire, a recurrent theme, is handled with wit and intelligence. "How Far Can You Go" (1980) released in United States as "Souls and Bodies" (1982) also examines sexual and religious evolution in a marvelously funny way. "Changing Places: A Tale of Two Campuses" (1975, 1979), based on Lodge's experience in Berkeley as a visiting professor, won the Hawthorne Prize and the Yorkshire Post fiction prize and solidified his reputation in America. Some of the author's other hilarious novels include "Nice Work" (1989), which Lodge adapted into an award-winning television series, and "Therapy" (1995), a sardonic look at mid-life crisis. Lodge's nonfiction includes a body of work begun in 1966 with "The Language of Fiction" and includes "The Art of Fiction: Illustrated from Classic and Modern Texts" (1992) and "The Practice of Writing: Essays, Lectures, Reviews and a Diary"(1996). In a unique approach, he often uses his own works for critical examination and tries to give prospective writers insights into the complex creative process. David John Lodge was born in London on January 28, 1935. He has a B.A. (1955) and M.A (1959) from University College, London and a Ph.D. (1967) and an Honorary Professorship (1987) from the University of Birmingham. Lodge is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature.

Bibliographic information